Tags

, , , , , ,

For I say, through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think soberly, as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith.

It’s easy to fall in the trap of – look what I’m doing! Look at all the good that I’m helping to accomplish.  Look at me. Look at me. Look at me.  I think we do this without even realizing it sometimes. We’re proud of the work that we do, or the good that we accomplish.  And that’s okay, as long as we realize that it’s not me who should be getting the glory – it’s God.  He gave me the ability to do (fill in the blank). He provided the opportunity.  He gave me the strength.  It’s for Him and by Him.

John the Baptist had a great many followers.  They were loyal and they were intrigued by the radical things he was teaching.  Then comes this man, Jesus.  And people are starting to pay attention to Him.  In fact, people are leaving John to follow after this “newcomer.”  (In fact, the apostle John was one of them.)  And some of John’s followers became concerned.  “What are we going to do about this? People are leaving you to follow Him!” And  I love John’s response: “He must increase, but I must decrease” (John 3:30)

That should be my response.  It’s not about me, God.  It’s about you.  You get the increase – You get the glory.  To Him be the glory and the dominion forever and ever. Amen.” (1 Pet 5:11)

