Tags

, , , , , ,

Therefore I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men

Paul encouraged Timothy to prayer, and we should take that encouragement and admonition to heart.  When we pray, do we realize that our words are going directly to the throne room of Heaven? What an amazing privilege we have! “Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” (Heb 4:16)

It’s not just about praying for our own needs and desires, but – as our text states – we ought to pray for “all men.”  Take some time and study these Scriptures:

  • Job 42:11
  • Ephesians 6:18
  • James 5:16
  • 2 Corinthians 1:8-11
  • Esther 4:15-16

Today, I’d ask that you would lift my young daughter up in prayer.  She is 8 years old and has suffered from chronic pain for over two and a half years. The Lord knows her pain, and has heard many prayers on her behalf.  I ask that you join in those prayers.  For now, He has not healed her, but I know that His glory has shone in her life and in the strength she has shown.  It is my prayer that He will one day heal her but in the meantime that I gain strength from her example of steadfast faith and endurance.

