Tags

, , , , , ,

For if I preach the gospel, I have nothing to boast of, for necessity is laid upon me; yes, woe is me if I do not preach the gospel! 17 For if I do this willingly, I have a reward; but if against my will, I have been entrusted with a stewardship

I came across this passage this evening and it hit me really hard.  What is my attitude  as I strive to work for the Lord and His church? Is it joyful service, or is it grudging duty? Is it a “get to” or a “have to”?  What does God see when He looks on my heart?

I want to praise God for all that He has done.  I want to rejoice in the privilege of working for Him.  I want the Psalmist’s words to echo and ring true in my life:

I will extol You, my God, O King; And I will bless Your name forever and ever. Every day I will bless You, And I will praise Your name forever and ever. Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; And His greatness is unsearchable. (Psalm 145:1-3)

As I think on my attitude, tonight David’s prayer is my own:

Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me. 11 Do not cast me away from Your presence, And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me. 12 Restore to me the joy of Your salvation, And uphold me by Your generous Spirit. (Psalm 51:10-12)

