Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

This week I’ve gotten to spend time with one of my oldest and dearest friends. When we get together, my husband knows to settle in and get comfortable, because our conversations never last less than a good hour at least.  I’ve been friends with this particular lady since early high school, and while I will not divulge the secret of that time frame, suffice it to say, we’ve known each other a long time.  When we get together often all we are doing is talking.  We talk about our kids, about jobs, about common friends and acquaintances.  We talk about interests, old problems, new joys. We just like to talk!  By sharing with each other, we are strengthening our friendship, and I believe that is why we have remained friends for so long and why after long periods of time apart, we can always come back together as if it had only been a couple of days.

Are we like that with God? Paul encouraged Christians to pray without ceasing” (1 Thess. 5:17).  Do we realize the importance of our prayer life? Do we recognize the fact that our prayers go to the very throne room of God? So why do we neglect such a privilege?  After all, prayer is our lifeline – our means of communication with the Father.  Our “calls” never get dropped, our “messages” never get lost in cyber space. He doesn’t ignore us, He never goes on vacation, and He always answers. We strengthen and grow our relationships with other people through communication, but for some reason, we often let the most important relationship of our life go cold because we just won’t “pick up the phone.”

Thinking on these things, ask yourself – how’s my prayer life? Do I talk more and easier to my friends than I do to my God? If so, what am I going to do about it?

