Tags

, , , , , , , ,

And He said to me,  “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

This morning we requested prayers for our youngest daughter.  She is 8 years old and for the past 2 and half years she has lived in pain due to chronic migraines.  She’s just started a new regimen that has her taking a total of 15 pills a day, and we requested prayers that this might finally be the answer.  Of course we’ve requested prayers many times on her behalf over the duration.  In the prayer this morning, this verse was mentioned, and I have to admit it was very difficult to hear.

I know I’m not alone. I know that there are many who pray and pray for healing for themselves or for a loved one, and that healing never comes. It can be devastating to watch a loved one suffer, and it’s easy to get angry at God.  Why? Why is He allowing this to happen? As I mentioned, it was hard to hear this verse this morning. That’s not what I want to hear! It hurts.

breathe… say a silent prayer for strength and understanding… breathe… pray some more…

Peter wrote “Therefore let those who suffer according to the will of God commit their souls to Him in doing good, as to a faithful Creator” (1 Peter 4:19) I see people looking at my daughter and gaining strength.  I see the example she sets in how she handles the tremendous amount of pain she lives with. I see the effect of people who send her cards and lift her up in prayer, all the while strengthening their own faith and walk as they work to serve her.

I ran across this quote and it’s something I need to take to heart:

it is imperative that the God of the mountaintop also be the God of the valley. (emphasis mine) The apostle Paul requested three times to be healed of his “thorn in the flesh.” The response from the Lord? “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness” (2 Cor. 12:9). The sufficiency of God’s grace is found in that we can endure suffering just as Jesus endured the Cross! Jesus endured for the “joy set before him” (Heb. 12:2), and God’s grace allows us to do the same. Our affliction is purposeful and passing, and although we may not be able to understand it, we must cling to God’s goodness and follow the pattern of his Son.

