Tags

, , , , ,

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

There is so much in this verse! I know I’ll come back to it at some point, but today one specific part of the verse is standing out to me: For we are…created…for good works.

The biggest questions of life are: Why am I here? What is my purpose? Paul tells us plain and simple: You were created for good works which God has prepared. You were created to work.  This is not about a career or vocation. This is about being about the Father’s business. This is about using what God has given you – whether it’s opportunities, abilities, the relationships you have in your life, circumstances you find yourself in – and using that to the glory of God.

“But I’m too old.” No you’re not. Caleb was 85 years old when he saw what he needed to do and said “Give me this mountain!” (Joshua 14:6-15) Anna was 84 years old when she met the baby Jesus in the temple and she gave glory to God. (Luke 2:36-38)She’d served her whole life. She could have said, “Well, I’ve done my part.” But that’s not what she said. She continued to serve and to be a blessing to those around her. She brought glory to God.

“I’m too young.” No you’re not. Josiah was 8 years old when he became king. He brought back worship to the true God. (2 Chronicles 34 ) When Christ was teaching and thousands of people started getting serious hunger pain, it was a child who brought the means which would feed the multitude. (John 6:1-14) The young get a bad rep, but they truly often have the best minds and the greatest ideas. They are so creative and so many have such huge hearts for service. We need to be listening and to learn from them.

“I’m too busy.” I hear you, believe me. Life is busy. Where’s your priorities though? (Col 3:2)

“Circumstances prevent me from being able to do much.” I understand that as well. So instead of looking at your circumstances as being a hindrance, see the opportunity there. So you can’t make it to help at the soup kitchen because of your health or other circumstances. Okay, can you sew? Check out organizations that can use your skills. Sew’n Hope is a project we created and would be delighted to have your help. Can you write cards? There are people who would love to hear from you. One of my favorite cards I ever received was a card that said on the front “Thank you” and on the inside “You have been a blessing to me.” There was nothing else on that card. No signature, no note, nothing. Tot this day, I have no idea who sent it to me, but it brought me such encouragement. Can you bake or cook? Can you paint or draw? Can you type? Can you read? Can you use scissors and glue? There are so many opportunities out there. They don’t have to be huge, but they will make a difference and they will help you fulfill your purpose.

This is what we were born to do. We were born to do good works and to bring glory to God. Isn’t there a restlessness in your soul when you aren’t fulfilling this purpose? Then let’s get busy!

Leave me a note and tell me what you are doing.

Talents

